new HOA book — Neighbors At War! by Ward Lucas

Amazon review By George K. Staropoli

This review is from: Neighbors At War! The Creepy Case Against Your Homeowners Association (Paperback)

Neighbors at War! is a refreshing description of what living in an HOA (homeowners association, property owners association, common-interest community or condo association) that the average person can understand. It is not another legal treatise, or academic journal or book, but the writing of an experienced and award winning investigative reporter.

It is a long needed book for prospective buyers of HOA controlled homes or those already living in an HOA. All those state mandated documents do not tell it all, as state legislators are pro-HOA and accept the denials of homeowner rights contained in HOA adhesion contracts.


Ward Lucas ranges far and wide, from questions of constitutionality and denials of bill of rights protections to more down-to-earth issues of HOA procedures and operations. Foreclosure, no fair elections, and kangaroo hearings on violations are examples of the cases and issues that are discussed in easy to understand terms.

I’ve been repeatedly told by legislators that complaining homeowners are trying to get out of a contract, should have read the CC&Rs, and should have gotten a lawyer. And not a word about misrepresentation and fraud.


Do not fall into the trap of Buyer Beware! Read this excellent book and discover what you are not being told by the special interest national lobbying organization formed to protect, not your rights, but the HOA status quo. Neighbors at War! is a must read for informed homeowners and state legislators

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pvtgov.wordpress.com/2012/11/10/new-hoa-book-neighbors-at-war-by-ward-lucas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I am working on disolving our HOA as well. I have been in court with them for over 2 1/2 years over some associations fees that I paid and have shown them proof that I paid. The HOA attorney has successful kept my case from going to trial in the meantime I have incurred all of their legal fees. I finally got literally sick and tired. I filed a counterclaim. Well today the judge just threw out my counterclaim not on merit but on a technicality. It wasn’t filed in a timely manner.
    (Small town, judge has relationship with HOA).

    This is unbelievable. The HOA made a mistake, doesn’t want to own it, has conspired with the court to silence me and now wants me to pay its legal fees.

    I am going to work my hardest to have this Association disolved because there is something unethical and shady about what their doing and furthermore its’ only purpose is to collect fees and maintain the common area. What am I paying property taxes for? The subdivision next to ours without a HOA looks better.

    More information is forthcoming with regards to disolving Augusta Homeowner’s Association In Bolingbrook, Illinois.

    • I am in a similar situation wlth the judge in tune with the HOA attorney that represented the HOA against me. It was evident I would not get any support from the judge. I could see the judge and the HOA attorney were friends.Read my BLOG on facebook after reading http://www.hoaabuse-corruption.com and read ALL comments on Blog for details. We need to unite. Strength in numbers..

      • The Biggest problem is CORRUPTION! The lawyers stop at nothing to get what they want, because if one, just one of us Win they lose everything… Crooks and Thieves… is what we are dealing with, Yes we need to stand together and abolish HOA’s once and for all… They are gateways to corruption, and the CAI attorneys like to defend them and the HOA rights so they can continue to get slam dunks in the courts, no two ways about it!

      • I’m not so sure we must abolish all HOA’S. I was a union member while working on the railroad (22 years), I believe in good unions, I believe in good HOA’S. We need to fight the corruption. I believe we all unit in getting good laws passed to protect homeowners against rogue people that get on HOA boards. This is why HOA-abuse-corruption has been formed (August 2012). We cover (serve) ALL fifty (50) states. Join us! Let us work together. Strength in numbers. We ARE growing. Read http://www.hoaabuse-corruption.com Donate to our cause!

  2. Hello George, Hope you are doing well, we are taking action to remove our HOA… Please visit our website http://www.removethehoa.com AAM LLC and Carpenter Hazelwood are scrambling to have us stopped… We refuse to be intimidated! Please feel free to share any comments you may have with me. again you do not need to worry about any legal issues when commenting your comments will remain completely confidential with me. Thanks Joe Jarvis Date: Sat, 10 Nov 2012 14:15:57 +0000 To: jjarvis7@live.com


Leave a Reply

