HOA treasurer learns about HOAs

The following introductory paragraphs are from a paper sent to my attention by a PA HOA treasurer, since May 2006, who decided to educate himself about HOAs.  Excellent reading.  The complete 8-page paper can be found on my site at Treasurer.

 

========================================

 

My Name is Robert Metcalf. I currently reside in, and serve on the Board Of Directors for a Common Interest Development (CID) known as Concord Crossing, located in Chadds Ford, PA. When I began my term in May of 2006, I decided to educate myself concerning CIDs to enhance my performance as a board member. Frankly, what I learned shocked and scared me. The purpose of this paper is to illustrate and provide some possible remedies to what I perceive as the greatest injustice perpetrated upon the American citizen in history.

 The Root Problem 

There are two basic issues concerning CIDs:

·         The basic legal framework in which they operate.

·         The lack disclosure required by law for perspective buyers.

As American citizens most of us take for granted the responsibilities and protections provided for us in our laws. It is unfortunate however that a sizable part of us have had these rights and protections stripped away without being afforded the opportunity to really understand what it means to purchase a property in a CID.


Published in: on May 15, 2007 at 9:43 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pvtgov.wordpress.com/2007/05/15/hoa-treasurer-learns-about-hoas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

